This website uses cookies to deliver the best possible user experience. See our Privacy Policy for more information.

Ashland Town Council Election Results May 2020


Ashland Town Hall was the polling location for the 2020 election to fill 3 of the 5 available Town Council seats. This election was important because the Ashland Mayor is elected by this group from amongst themselves!

The 3 winners are:  Current Mayor Steve Trivett, current Town Council member Kathy Kennedy Abbott, and NEW member Anita Barnhart.

Watch the debate!  All 3 winners spoke for 3 minutes at the beginning of this debate video. Watch to find out all about them and their plans for Ashland.


UPCOMING ELECTION: Be sure you are registered to vote by Oct. 9, 2020 for the November 3rd election! Read more here. The Hanover County Voter Registration & Elections Office can be reached by phone at (804) 365-6080.

Here is the vote tally for the Ashland Town Council election held May 19, 2020:

Mayor Steven Trivett - Re-elected to Town Council

Read what Mayor Steve says to the Ashland community ...

Kathy Abbott - Re-elected

Kathy is co-owner of    

Read what Kathy has to say about winning!

Anita Barnhart:  NEW Member

Anita has a Masters in Education from Virginia Commonwealth University.

Find out how she feels about Ashland businesses and education starting from around the 3 minute mark in this video:

Please "Like" & "Share" our Facebook Page!

Congratulations to the 3 winners of the 2020 Ashland Town Council election:  Kathy Kennedy Abbott, Steve Trivett and Anita Barnhart.